How is a Fine Art Session with Mayumi Acosta Photography ~ Sacramento CA

Unique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer

Hello Friends!

Recently I have been booking some unique on-location photo sessions and when I first meet with my clients to find about their style and how they want to be photographed, one thing that call a lot of attention is my Fine Art Portrait samples. A brief explanation of this type of portraits are provided on the Fine Art Section of my website.

Because this is not a common type of portrait photography most people are intrigued about how to create the concept, what to wear, what elements to include and what would be the best location to tell their story. I hope to answer some of those question on this blog post.

If you are looking for a unique and artistic way to tell a story, maybe to celebrate a milestone in your life, celebrate a new beginning or just to immerse yourself in a visual dream and have and unique piece of art to give as a gift or to display at home, we can plan together a Fine Art session. The first thing is to know what you want to communicate with your image. I always ask my clients to give me 5 words to describe feelings or emotions they want to communicate in their photographs, then we talk about style and inspiration. It is not hard to know if your style is more vintage, romantic, gothic, or modern fashion, what is hard, is to imagine yourself in an environment where you have never been to or clothes you have never worn. Sometimes my clients take the risk and choose an style inspired in a movie or music video that is not necessary their “everyday” style, that is the most challenging and exciting aspect of this photo sessions, you can choose to tell your story in a creative way, be a story character or just be yourself and be photographed in a way you always dreamed of, or maybe never dreamed of.

To recreate and explain what a fine session implies, I will present some images from a recent session with Kaori who inquired about my services just before this spring. Kaori is about to graduate from UC Davis and wanted to celebrate her achievement with a Fine Art Session. We had a consultation on early February where she explained to me about the goals of her photo session, we shared some images that inspired us to come up with the final idea. The location we choose was the UC Davis Arboretum, since we were close to spring we hoped to have those beautiful pink blossoms in the frame.

Kaori wanted to recreate some images we found on Pinterest that incorporate big headpieces, a bit of a vintage and romantic style. Since I love flowers and have lots of them in my studio I created my own headpieces for the shooting, I normally use a lot of flowers as photo props but had no experience making big headpieces. So it took me a while to figure out the best way to put all the pieces together.  Here is a sample of what I used and the final result:

Behind the scenes, Headpieces, Photo Props, Photo shooting, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis Arboretum, Fine Art Portrait

For Clothing we decide to use one of the dresses I had in my studio, I had just got it from Boheme, one of my favorite stores in Davis, a place I always visit when I am in search of something original to use in my studio. We did the session in an afternoon of late February, it was still cold and the trees were just starting to flower. My husband was assisting me that day and took this behind the scenes shoots:

Behind the scenes, photo shooting, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis Arboretum

Here are some of the images that came up from this session with Kaori. Please feel free to share, comment or ask any question. For more samples of Fine Art Portraits please visit my website. If you are interested in a fine art session please contact me at photography@mayumiacosta.com

Unique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer
Unique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer

Unique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA PhotographerUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA PhotographerUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer, Romantic Portraits, Vintage Inspired Portrait, Mayumi AcostaUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer, Romantic Portrait, Sacramento Studio PortraitUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA PhotographerUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA PhotographerUnique Portraits, Fine art Portraiture, Mayumi Acosta Photography, Sacramento Photographer, UC Davis arboretum, Artistic Portraits, Davis CA Photographer

Submit a comment

